Sharing your Google Doc allows me to view, edit, and comment on your documents. It’s easier for me and for you if your doc exists there. It’s okay if you’re using Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, or prefer rich text format (RTF) because Google Docs will interpret it in a way that lets me do what I need to do.

This tutorial will walk you through how to share the document if it already exists in your Google account.

If it doesn’t, simply upload it to your Google Drive account, and then follow the instructions below.

To share a document:

  • Open the document you want to share.
  • Click on the blue Share button in the upper right part of your browser window of choice. It’s more than likely going to be next to the button that accesses your Google Account (see image below, you can see my photo there).
The blue share button!
  • A dialog window will open in response. You can share with individuals or groups by typing into the “Add people to send the link to” field. However, that doesn’t apply to what I need.
  • To obtain a shareable URL, go to the “Get Link” section of the popup box, and select the blue link that says “Change”. It may default to “Restricted.” That’s okay; manually change the option to “Change to anyone with the link.”
Get link box
  • The screen will change to look like the screenshot below.
  • The only thing you need to change is the drop-down menu to the right of the “Anyone with the link” field. Editor means others can make changes. It’s ideal for the collaborative writing and/or editing that I will be doing for you. In case you were wondering, the other options are as follows:
    • Viewer means people can view your document but cannot change it.
    • Commenter means people can’t make changes but can add comments. Do not select this if you want me to edit your document!
  • If you ever lose access to the link, you’ll need to access the Share button to get the popup window again.

Folders can also be shared. If your workflow requires multiple pieces to be edited, sharing this folder’s URL may be a better use of your time.

  • In Google Drive, find the folder you want to share and right-click on it (if you’re on Windows).
  • In the menu that pops up, choose Share.
  • It’s the same process as sharing a link to a Google Doc.

What’s next?

  • You should have received instructions on where to access my client submission form. Copy the link provided by Google in the field on the form that says “Please provide your Google URL here.” I’ll know what to do with it from there.
  • Depending on the agreed-upon review period (varies from project to project), I ask that you give me that amount of time to perform my work. Please be aware that if you go back in and edit the file because you forgot a period, or want to change entire blocks of texts, you invalidate our agreement and I will refuse to complete it. Please be patient!

What do I do with my edited doc?

I’ll let you know when it’s safe to review the comments I made on your document. If your requested service includes a rework, it’s critical that you communicate with me to understand where I’m at in the editing process. I may just be working on it and I don’t want to end up commenting on something that changed because you went into the doc while I was still editing it. That just holds the procedure up and it’s unfair to you, and detrimental to my process as well.

What you do with the edited doc after we’ve concluded your transaction is your prerogative. In fact, here are the options for downloading into different formats:

The different options for Google Doc file exports

Once I’ve completed my work on the document, you’re free to do what you wish with it.

And that’s it! Let me know if you run into any issues.